An Award!

LiebsterAward-300x225

Well, I’m pretty darned proud to say that my tiny corner of the blogosphere has been nominated for a Liebster award – the very first one ever for me! And all thanks to J over at Don’t Delete Me.  Thanks, J!  😉  And I apologize for the tardiness of my acknowledgement.

Now, my confession to you is that this is the first I’ve heard of this award, but heck – I’ll certainly take it. An award is an award in my book, and I am pretty tickled that one of my new bloggy friends thought of little ol’ me. And apparently, there is a short list of rules for acceptance:

  1. The nominated user must provide a link back to the person who nominated them
  2. Provide 11 facts about yourself.
  3. Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
  4. Choose 11 more people and ask them 11 questions.

So, because I don’t mind following the rules (most of the time) – and hey, I’ve already obliged to #1 on the list, so I may as well keep going – here is the rest.

11 Facts About Me:

  1. I was almost born in a VW Beetle. Apparently, I made my grand entrance into the world about only 15 minutes after getting to the hospital.
  2. I was a licensed real estate agent for about a year or so when we lived in Connecticut.
  3. I secretly (or maybe not-so-secretly now) have an affinity for disco music. Loud, and in the car.
  4. When I was in first grade, we had an amazing black lab/dalmation mix dog named Boogie. He had only three legs for about the last 3 or 4 years of his life. He was the most wonderful dog ever.
  5. My first real job was at Taco Bell. I eventually was let go for too many unders/overs on my cash register check-outs, which at the time was nearly earth-shattering. I think I was making a whopping $2.75 an hour.
  6. I have been to the top of the St. Louis Arch, but not to the top of the Statue of Liberty (despite a visit there as well.)
  7. If I had to choose: creamy/sweet over salty/crunchy.
  8. I absolutely loathe, with every fiber of my being, the color pink.
  9. If I could move anywhere in the world, right now, and cost/family/zoning laws weren’t a factor: a small, cozy cabin/cottage right smack in the middle of here:

      banff-national-park-7514-1920x1200(Banff National Park, Canada. I’d be there in a New York minute.)

  10. I am an incurable Law and Order junkie. Mike Logan and Lennie Brisco – the best forever.
  11. I wear tie-dye t-shirts 90% of the time when I’m not at work. And sometimes even when I am at work.

And here is where I answer some  specific questions:

  1. What do you really think will happen if there is a Zombie outbreak? That’s hard to say, but I’m pretty sure I would learn how to use a really sturdy and reliable weapon in a big-ass hurry! 
  2. If you met your idol in person, what would you do? First, I’d have to invent a time machine, but once I got over that little hurdle, I’d likely ask him and her to a very long and leisurely lunch. And in case you’re wondering: Henry David Thoreau and Mother Teresa, because I have two idols. And in a perfect scenario, I’d have lunch with both of them at the same time. 
  3. If you could travel back in time, where/when would you go? This is a helpful corollary question to #2…but putting #2 aside for a moment, I would love to go back to Medieval England. Around the mid-to-late 15th century. To meet Richard III and get the real skinny about the nephews in the Tower. 
  4. What is your favourite movie? Hoo-boy – only one?? Well, I guess it would have to boil down to a three-way tie between Forrest Gump, Inception and Dances With Wolvesand it’s probably cheating, but I can’t choose so this is what I’m sticking with. 
  5. What is your main goal in life? To always keep learning. And exploring. And reading. And writing.
  6. Do you have a pet? If so, what is it? One cat, and one parakeet. And never the two shall meet. Ever. 
  7. What are you most afraid of? A terrible death.
  8. What is your favourite quote? “. . . remember, no matter where you go, there you are.” ~Buckaroo Banzai, from The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension
  9. If someone told you when you were going to die, would you believe them? If so, how would you live your life up until that final day? I would probably believe her or him, because everyone dies, so technically speaking it wouldn’t be false no matter what. I would spend my remaining time in as much deep spiritual contemplation as I possibly could, as well as spending as much time as possible with my family. And hopefully, #7 would have nothing to do with this question. 
  10. What do you think the meaning of life is? My knee-jerk response here is, of course, 42. But on a more serious note…I think life is all about relationship with others and relationship with God, whatever that looks like to anyone in particular. And ultimately, somehow, some way, it’s going to be all good for everyone in every corner. 
  11. Are you wondering why there are 11 questions for everything and not an even number like 10 or 12? Not really, but admittedly, it *is* a bit unusual. And that’s what makes it interesting.

And now, I hereby am awarding, in turn, this prestigious and deeply reflective award to the following awesome bloggers:

  1. The Ubiquity Principle
  2. Run. Or Die Trying.
  3. True East
  4. The Silver Leaf Journal
  5. 20/20 Hines Sight
  6. TwistedSifter
  7. Rain’s Writing Realm
  8. Bumblepuppies
  9. espresso coco
  10. Not a Punk Rocker
  11. The TransNationalist

Finally, here are 11 questions of my own devising, springing from the most creative vein I can muster at the moment, for the tagged bloggers to answer if they so desire:

  1. If he was ever a part of your family tradition, when did you find out the truth about Santa Claus? If not part of your tradition, was there a particular fable represented to you as truth that you later found out wasn’t true?
  2. If you were being exiled to a desert island along with three of your best friends, what one board game would you take with you?
  3. What is the most unusual food you have ever tried?
  4. Name a book that changed your life (or worldview) and why.
  5. Star Wars Harrison Ford, or Indiana Jones Harrison Ford?
  6. What was the very first car you ever owned?
  7. If you could own any exotic pet you wanted (and cost/safety/health of the animal wasn’t a factor) – what would it be?
  8. What one thing, uncategorically, is the ONE thing you MUST do before you die?
  9. If there is one talent (that you currently don’t have) that you could acquire to the point of perfection overnight, what would it be?
  10. Mayonnaise or mustard?
  11. Shaken or stirred?

I think that about covers it.  😉

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

