Boys in the House

Today was a day off for me, and I intended to write all day, but instead ended up spending a lot of time sorting my massive digital photo collection and reading blog posts, and then almost two solid hours trying to update my cellphone – crashing it hard and then having to Google my way through a factory default restore to get it running again.

So, definitely not quite how I planned the day out, but somewhere in the midst of sifting through photos, it occurred to me that I’ve never done an entire post on my kids – at least, not all three of them at once. I also didn’t have a blogging topic for today, and I really wanted to post something, so I decided to put the two together, and voila – ! here I am at 10:35 at night, which of course is the perfect time to bang out a blog post.

If I were to write in-depth here about them, I would be writing all night, and quite possibly all through tomorrow and the next day. I’ve been with them for the last 25 years or so, in varying timeframes of course…having triplets probably would have secured me a permanent post in the local nut factory! 25 years is a long time, almost half of my life, and it’s fair to say that at times, it’s felt like 10 lifetimes. But I’ve figured out the positives outweigh the negatives, though – by a long shot. So I am grateful for every single day I’ve had with them.

My three sons….a brief snapshot

Christian is the oldest, the first-born, the guinea-pig of sorts. He was always smiling and shy when he was young, a head full of blonde curls and a sunny disposition.  Once he learned to read he was a voracious consumer of books, he grew to love music and hate tomatoes and cheese (except pizza cheese.) Now he lives about 25 minutes south of us and works hard in the gaming world. As you might be able to discern:

061

I’ll bet you couldn’t tell he’s into XBox. At all. But technically, it’s part of his job.

Justin is next down the line, unflappable and endlessly inquisitive. Terribly clumsy as a child and has multiple scars to prove it; we made more trips to emergency room with this kid than for the other two put together. Sharp as a tack with a wicked sense of humor. Another big reader and music lover like his older brother, and very active in Scouting when he was in school. He’s a bit unreadable at times but has a tender, empathic nature that shows when one least expects it.

photo

You hardly ever know what this one is thinking. And when you *do* figure it out…

And last but never, ever least, there’s Nicholas. Full of headstrong energy and a precise knowledge of exactly which buttons to push with his brothers to get what he wants. When he’s in the mood, he’s a great conversationalist. Asks lots of tough questions and makes poignant observations. Bright affections, sunny smile, and the most brilliant blue eyes ever. Totally unapologetic Minecraft nut.

218

I have a lot of favorite pictures of Nicholas, but this one not only takes the cake, it pours the batter and bakes it too.

And this is one of the most amazing pictures ever of the three of them together:

p12552s1103281_5_00

Christmas, 2012. Happy shiny boys.  ❤

All I can say to sum up here is that there isn’t enough a room big enough anywhere in this universe to contain the love I have for them, for the richness they add to my life, for the ways in which they have made me a better person.

Leave a Reply

